. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

In which Koog is not a very nice person

What do you do when something looms on the horizon, an event you've known about for a while, which you've been dreading for no particular reason. I don't know about you, but I start to lose things.

Important thing, like my cellular phone and my glasses.

OK, see, one of my exes will be in town over the weekend. I don't hate this guy, but we weren't really friends outside of our relationship. I have very little, if anything, to say to him, and while there's no good reason not to want to see him, I don't really want to see him. I can't see it being any fun, and I'm kind of the "if it's not fun, why do it?" school of thought right now, at least where social activities are concerned.

However, I have an inexplicable need to be polite to people I'd really rather not see. Here's an example. I got some e-mail once from a friend-turned-stalker, and even though I really wanted him to leave me the hell alone, I prepared a response that said I guessed we could meet for coffee, if he really wanted.

My boyfriend noticed this as I was writing the message and said something along the lines of "What, are you nuts?"

The ex in question was important to me a long time ago, but I was the one who wanted to break up, and while I bear him no ill will, I am not inclined to make room for him in my life again. If he's not part of my life, I don't see why I should waste a perfectly good Saturday afternoon having lunch with him.

The point being that I don't think he has my home phone number, but at some point he acquired my cell number. (I don't remember giving it to him, but he has it.) My home number is completely untracable, so unless I find the cell before Saturday...

Oh, you know I'm going to cave and leave a message at his hotel, but I can dream of not... right?

06.20.2002, 11:57 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.