. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Shows you what I know...

I thought this piece in my local fishwrapper was quite decent, and made a good point, namely that people really live in Washington D.C.

I am one of them. When people say "I'm from Washington," they generally mean the Washington area, but I honestly do live in the city. It's a freaky place, but I like it.

I ask myself why I stay here, and it's a valid question because I keep leaving and coming back. There's no good answer. I liked both Manhattan and Seattle and could have stayed in either place, but I keep coming back here.

Part of it has to do with orientation. You get used to the way a city is laid out--you know how the grid works and where the grid stops working. You become confident in your ability to walk like you belong. You learn how to navigate at the local DMV.

The more things I know about a city without having to ask, the more comfortable I feel.

Besides, all my doctors are here.

~~~~~

I haven't been watching much of the World Cup coverage, but what I've watched has been on Univision. Why yes, that's one of the Spanish-language networks. I don't speak Spanish, although every so often a word pops out of the call--this morning it was "el capitain"--but I also don't know very much about soccer. However, the crowd is so into it, and there's that whole thing with the "gooooooooooooooal" guy.

My question is this: where do they play in Japan? Is there enough flat land for the stadium, like, anywhere? I had no idea the Asia was as soccer-mad as Latin America and Western Europe.

06.04.2002, 8:33 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.