. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Busting out all over

About a month ago, Dr. Piper told me I would be OK to start exercising in June. Well, it's June so I started exercising this morning; and then I stopped. It was a good thing I stopped when I did, as the muscles in my legs were protesting like Greenpeace. (Right. My quads rented a big ol' boat and took it out to stalk seal hunters. Oooookay.)

I stopped because the exercises I was doing to help my tattered abdominal muscles were hurting my legs. I think I wasn't doing them exactly right, but as I said, today was day one.

Seriously, I did better than expected. I am starting slow and I am working with a trainer so I have a chance not to hurt myself. My goal for tomorrow is to get up early enough so that I can go to the gym and at least do some cardio before I head out to have the holes in my eyes fused back together. Now, I don't know that I'll manage this, but it's good to have a goal.

My gym really does rock. I was reading the member newsletter, and apparently the gym offers outings to do things that I've always wanted to try, such as skydiving and snow skiing. I definitely want to go on the whitewater rafting trip in September. I have been whitewater rafting a couple of times, and it's so much fun.

Which brings me to my point. I think it's a good idea to go out and do things for which you have no inate talent. I am not very outdoorsy; the last time I went hiking with a group of friends I managed to slip on a rock and fall into a river while wearing my pack. They had to fish me out. Still, I enjoyed myself, and I think that's the important part.

So, yes, I would like to jump out of an airplane. I think that would be fun. I fell from a second-story window when I was very young, and the sensation of falling is a really wonderful thing.

I would not describe myself as a daredevil, but really, what's the point of living if you don't kind of risk your life every so often.

It's good for you.

Note: I am having more laser work done on my retinas tomorrow (Tuesday) so I will be blind for a while. Hence, I will be away from the 'net. This is not really a bad thing.

06.02.2003, 9:41 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.