. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Doomed to repeat it

As if the whole Enron fracas wasn't enough to convince you that the 80s are back (anybody remember insider trading?) a visit to your local Target should nail that notion firmly in place.

The first thing I spotted when I walked in last night to get one little stupid thing that they didn't even have was a picture of Phillipe Starck rendered in black and yellow. It was all over the store because he's done a line of... stuff. It's quite a random assortment, everything from a kiddie scooter to an assortment of toothbrushes.

I bought a white plastic lamp and I would have picked up a pair of the lighted tables, but there was only one in stock. I really like the folding chairs, but I have so many chairs that it would be wrong to buy any more. The stuff is all sort of friendly-industrial, if that makes any sense.

If Starck weren't enough, Stephen Sprouse is also present at Target in the form of a line of swimwear, and one very wild pair of pants. I would have tried on the pants except that they're junior sizes, which means they'd be too short in the waist. I'm not really all over the idea of a waistband that hits right around the catheter's exit site.

I seriously thought Sprouse had died. There was one swimsuit in the line that was cute, and I might go back and try on when I'm in a better mood.

To add to this, I've been listening to New Order, Depeche Mode, and the Pet Shop Boys all day courtesy of the 'net. I'm surprised how well "What Have I Done To Deserve This?" has held up. I mean, it's not the kind of song I would have expected to enjoy after all these years of partaking of folk music.

I was trying to come up with a genre for that stuff, though, and I couldn't. It's not really techno, it's not really pop, and it was definitely post new wave.

It was actual club music, back in the day... which brings me back to Starck, as good a place to end as any.

06.02.2002, 12:06 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.