. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Happy Meal

I'm on a mission.

OK, it's not exactly a mission, more like a personal challenge not to eat so much take-out. I admit that I don't prepare most of my meals at home, which is insane and wrong. I end up eating a lot of crappy, expensive food. This would be fine, except that I'm a decent cook.

So, Monday morning I started cooking. For breakfast I made home fries with peppers and onions and some nice scrambled eggs. I chopped up some melon to go with and had a lovely meal. I decided to see if I could go for a week without eating any take out. (Last night I did eat a pre-made sandwich from Harris Teeter, but I didn't enjoy it.)

I've been making food from scratch rather than using convenience foods, and it's a lot of fun. Cooking is a good and useful occupation. And now I want to feed people. Not every day, mind you, just from time to time I'd like to make food and have somebody else eat it.

I don't really have a problem cooking for myself, or even eating by myself, but a good meal can be festive and fun. I joked not long ago that I was going to try running a personal ad that said "Hungry?" Well, not yet... but you never know.

05.29.2002, 10:17 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.