. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

This is the sound my brain makes when it's tired

My head is spinning, but in a good way, I guess. See, the death of TiVo has me investigating wireless networking again. (I'd have done it already if I hadn't had so much downtime this year. It was really on my list of things to do in 2003, so I guess I'm getting started at a good time.)

Anyway. after reading all day, it looks to me like the best and only really good option is the Apple AirPort Base Station. The Microsoft hardware is cheaper, but won't support my iBook. (Did I mention that I bought an iBook a couple of months ago? I thought not. I haven't really drunk the Kool-Aid yet, but I'm fond of the little sucker. No, I didn't give it a name. At this point I use it exclusively for working because it's not connected to the 'net unless I dial up. Who wants to do that?)

I am sure there is other hardware that will support cross-platform networking, but I want something with an interface I know I can understand without having to call one of my friends who's geekier than I am. So far our requirements are must be understandable and installable by Koog and must work with all the computers.

After reading a handy chart at apple.com it looks like I can't use the newest version of AirPort with my Windows machines, then I found an article on the web that says I can.

I guess I'm going to the Apple store tomorrow. Maybe I'll have a nice bowl of chili for lunch, assuming I get out there in the neighborhood of lunch. Going to the Apple store was on my agenda for the weekend, but after I found Trader Joe's mobbed on Saturday afternoon I decided I'd wait.

I wait for a lot of things. I mean, I haven't seen the Matrix sequel yet for fear of those... people who wait in line for 24 or more hours to get movie tickets for the very first showing.

Not that there's anything wrong with that, I guess, but it's just not my kind of thing. I suppose it's a good thing I didn't want to audition for American Idol, anyway. The line would kill me.

Getting back to the subject at hand, I hope you're all interested in cross-platform networking and my attempts to cobble it together, that's probably all I'm doing for the next week or so, and you can read all about it right here.

05.27.2003, 8:16 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.