. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Le Freak, c'est chic

I'm glad I'm not a kid these days...

This is from a story in today's Washington Post about the state of, uh, dancing in modern high schools:

And at Stone Bridge High School in Ashburn, the deejay froze the freaking several times during a recent dance by playing the "Barney" theme song.

I don't know about you, but that's a major buzzkill.

Apparently "freaking" is the jitterbug for the oughts. And apparently school administrators have conveniently forgotten about disco.

I mean, back in the 80s, we were all dancing with ourselves. On the other hand, there was Footloose, a really cheesy movie about how dancing leads to sin, or not. The whole concept of dancing being sinful is so cliched that I almost can't believe school administrators are really using it again.

Do they think Studio 54 is going to start all over again? I hear stories that people had actual sex on that dance floor. While I agree that this "freaking" is most likely unseemly, where's the real harm?

05.17.2002, 12:30 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.