. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Rubber and Springs

So, I picked up the new cat last Saturday. She's a big girl, and like Lola she's a patch tabby Maine Coon. Her voice is very different than Lola's--she lacks the same expressive purr and so far she doesn't seem to have Lola's extensive vocabulary. However, the similarities are there and I am very fond of Marilyn.

She disappeared on Monday. I mean she vanished. She did not make a sound, she wasn't in any of the usual cat places, and I began to think she had made a dangerous escape through a second-story window.

I had started distributing flyers around the neighborhood and talking to everybody I happened to see on the streets. Have you seen a cat who didn't seem to belong? Every time one of my phones rang, I got my hopes up again that on the other end would be somebody who had seen her.

About an hour ago I went into the kitchen to make some lemonade ehen I noticed little Amelia crawling under a cabinet. I shook my head at her ability to get through such a teeny little space, but she's tiny for her breed. I heard a little bit of hissing out of Amelia so I opened the door to the cabinet, and Marilyn walked out.

The hole is blocked up now with a folded kitchen towel. I really don't know how 12 pounds of Marilyn got through there.

Anyway, she's taken up residence on my lap, which suits me just fine. The only thing better than life with one Maine Coon is life with two.

05.16.2002, 12:27 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.