. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Cross my heart, hope to die, etc...

It's my lucky day, I guess.

You see--and you'll understand why that common enough beginning to one of my sentences is ironic in a few seconds--when I went to visit my opthalmologist last month, he found still more damage to my retinas. I am not sure how many people can fully empathize with my frustration at continuing to develop complications from a medical condition that has bee technically cured. I guess it's residual damage, but I keep thinking that it will stop.

In any case, I knew I needed to see the retinologist again but had postponed making that call for almost month, because frankly, going to see the retinologist is not the most fun thing, even in the universe of going to see doctors. Dr. Garfinkle is a stand-up guy, but he's stuck needles way too near my eyes for me ever to be

I finally did call this afternoon, and what do you know? They can work me in Wednesday morning.

"This coming Wednesday?" I said. Yes, indeed.

Oh. Well then.

On the other hand, I had another clinic visit to check on the kidney this morning. Everybody says I look great. I feel OK, if a little tired. I blame the riredness on the time I've spent trying to clean up in the basement. That's a good reason to be tired.

05.12.2003, 4:05 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.