. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Magic Red

One of the bright lights in makeup is gone. Kevyn Aucoin died Tuesday at the age of 40; he had a brain tumor.

I learned so much from his books and respected him for not having his own product line. (Although he did eventually launch one that featured tools and one color product: mascara. He shared my love of burgundy macara, which he called Magic Red)

The way he wrote about makeup was inspiring, in a way. It was practical, but fun. His online columns were chatty and personal, and he always seemed like the sort of person I'd like to have lunch with. He had a talent for seeing faces, but he also had a great deal of sense.

In practice with makeup, he did not have a defined style or a signature "look," but his books taught that experimentation with makeup is a good way to express yourself. I can get behind that.

Above all, he valued people, which was clear from the way he expressed himself.

Life is just too damned short. I know this first hand, and I feel like I have no right to be shocked when somebody whose work I respect dies, but the inevitability does nothing to stop the sadness that he's not with us any more.

I'll miss you, Kevyn. Thanks for everything.

05.09.2002, 6:51 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.