. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

It's the economy, stupid

I know I said this at least once before, but when do we get to leave what happened on September 11, 2001, to history?

I am not suggesting anybody forget, but I am not looking forward to seeing the event further politicized by the GOP. I do not trust Karl Rove to treat--OK, anything--with the reverence, or at least respect it that deserves.

Have any of the Dems running (or thinking about running) got the balls to get up and say that the future of the United States of America cannot be about September 11, or terrorism, or war.

I'm almost positive the answer to my question is a big fat no. I've never seen a bigger bunch of weenies than the prospetive Democratic nominees. They're afraid of Howard Dean, for crying out loud.

(I like Howard Dean because he doesn't talk like a professional politician and fairly regularly puts his foot in his mouth, but he's not awe inspiring or anything.)

Maybe I should get out of this town. I am starting to sound like a speechwriter.

Anyway, today I have to like the Washington Redskins for knocking GWB off the front page of the Post online at midafternoon. Good for... I don't know who. The Post has been featuring an interesing poll pointing up the current presiden't weak spots with the public, but I get a feeling nobody who might have chance to unseat him is listening.

I've managed to ignore a lot of the Bush administration, but I've also been moderately sedated for much of the past three years. That really helps.

05.02.2003, 6:40 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.