. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

At a loss for a short description

I had another clinic visit this morning. Dr. Jonsson asked how I was doing and I told him I was trying to figure out what I am going to do when I no longer have him to run my life.

It's true. More than any other person, he's looked out for me over the past few years. He saved my life at least twice, and I have no idea what I'll do without him. After all, he's the first person I've ever worked with on anything whose advice I almost always take.

Moving on is a good thing; normal, you know? I guess the level of fear I have of doing so is a sign that I am not quite ready. Every time I have tried to move on something has happened.

So now that I feel better and stronger I have little choice but to wait for the proverbial other shoe. In the mean time, I do laundry, take the trash out to the curb, maybe cook some dinner. It doesn't sound like much to you, but to me these chores are major victories.

I still have a hard time believing that I am 100% better and ready to go out there in the world and function because this "I feel great!" thing has happened so many times before only to vanish in a matter of hours. I could contract any number of life-threatening infections, or I could up and try to reject the kidney. I could probably manage to try to reject the pancreas. There are still parts of me held together with temporary measures and a couple of issues that remain unresolved.

So I am not breathing easy quite yet even though everybody tells me how great I look these days. Great. That's the word they all use. I guess they've all seen me looking pretty bad.

05.01.2003, 5:51 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.