. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Way over the top

One more stupid thing from the weekend:

I watched some of the NBA playoffs this weekend, not any whole games, because I generally find professional basketball almost unwatchable, but I saw some, plus there's Sportscenter so you always know what's going on.

One of the things that went on is that Mavs beat up on the Timberwolves, or the T'wolves. (I always want to say "twolves" as one word rather than "tee-wolves" as I'm sure it's meant to be. Whatever.) My point is that in the post-game locker room interview, Twolves forward Kevin Garnett was wearing the biggest diamond earrings I've ever seen--two of them. They had to be real because I don't think an NBA player has the sense to wear fakes in the locker room.

But they were so big they looked fake-- like a 10 carat diamond in each ear. Vegas showgirls on stage have subtler baubles. It is still hard for me to get behind the idea of a man wearing two earrings in the first place, but two gigantic diamonds? That can't be a good idea.

I don't know if he still does it, but Michael Jordan used to wear one fair sized diamond earring, maybe a carat-- reasonably understated despite falling into the semi-questionable category of Diamond Jewelery Worn by Men. So maybe this is really a matter of Kids These Days not getting it. Especially not a kid with a budget like Kevin Garnett's.

Damn.

04.30.2002, 5:01 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.