. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Sweet land of liberty... or something

I wanted to say a belated thanks to my parents for getting me through college without taking out loans. It was nice to be able to start my adult life without a mountain of debt. I assume that my brother feels the same way.

The reason I bring this up is that I was watching the Senate on CSPAN-2, and I saw Sens. Kennedy, Sarbanes and Durbin engaged in a question tossing session that essentially called something by its right name: a load of crap.

The AP story I linked doesn't put it as bluntly as Kennedy put it, that the Bush Administration hopes to pay for making its tax cut permanent with variable interest rates on student loan consolidations. Sounds like a scam to me.

There's just not enough money to pay for all the things the administration wants. Period. Something has to give. I don't claim that this hasn't been the case for virtually every administration, but I'm complaining about this one, right now, because of the audacity of this suggested fix, which makes Congrefs look like the Good Guys.

How is that possible?

04.29.2002, 10:09 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.