. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Spammer Ethics

I was listening to Marketplace earlier this evening and I heard something that disturbed me. Apparently there's a whole industry devoted to figuring out ways to help the evil--let's be polite for a moment and call them "advertisers"--spam my cell phone and yours.

My immediate reaction to this is that if spam is going to proliferate to phones, the least my cellular provider can do is lower the price of service. I'll be damned if I'm going to pay a premium rate for something that just wants to send me messages about stuff I don't want and don't want to know about.

On the other hand, it's not like I'd sacrifice my mobile phone. I ran into a situation over the weekend in which I couldn't get my battery charged, I was trying to meet two different people and I was just lost without my phone, although I did eventually make both meeting spots.

I rarely answer my phone unless I recognize the number, and actually I have my phone set to a different ring for numbers that are programmed in. At least I look at the number before I decide whether to answer, though.

It's just, argh. Maybe I'm not a person that an "advertiser" could get to through a phone. I am disturbed that there's an industry trying to figurt out how. I would ptobably pay extra for a blocker.

Speaking of which, today I got e-mail spam that identified itself as being from "Mail Delivery Service", but it was actually spam. No such thing as ethics, I guess.

04.29.2003, 10:03 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.