. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

It's alll about the cable company

I swear it's the pain killers.

The past week has been sort of a blur between the pain and the meds that are supposed to help the pain. They are really not doing their duty.

Now, I do have a complaint that has nothing to do with my health and nothing to do with the Bush Not Liar administration. No, this is all about Comcast.

My house was awakened yesterday by the feeble wheeze of the doorbell rung by a construction working who said "move your car." About 15 minutes later, the noise commenced. Comcast is laying fiber optic cable on my street.

Woo.

The signs say that they're supposed to be done in two weeks, but another set of signs said they were supposed to do this work in March, and it didn't say anything about tearing up the street.

Here's my proposition: if you live in a place where Comcast controls the cable, and that's pretty much everywhere, get rid of it in favor of a dish. The dish is cheaper and generally has better packages. They no longer offer broadband, but DSL has good enough coverage between all the various providers that I don't think you should have a problem getting your speedy internet from somebody other than Comcast.

I guess I'm hoping that they run out of money pay the contractors to rip up my street.

Other than that, I hurt. I'm in pain and my confidence is a little shaken because I feel like I should have made more progress by this time. The reninders that I just had my guts split open a week ago don't seem to affect my attitude. Maybe I would feel better if I could complete a simple task like walking down a flight of stairs in reasonable amount of time; or make a sandwich without needing to sit down before it's done.

I know I will get better, but I don't know when; and "eventually" doesn't seem to be good enough any more.

04.13.2003, 11:41 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.