. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

In which Koog describes a proper mascara application technique

I do still use makeup, you know. I even still buy makeup, but lately it's seemed like the face paint hasn't been an overriding force in my life. However, today I made a discovery.

If you use mascara, a metal lash comb is your best friend. Oh. Man. What a difference. Tammy Faye doesn't have one of these, and look where she ended up.

The trouble with mascara is that too damned much of it gets on your lashes, so it looks fake and tacky. This is why I don't really wear mascara all that often. I want to wear mascara, but I don't want to look like that. Lately I've tried wiping most of the product off the brush before applying. (I accomplish this by running the brush over the top of the tube a few times,, then wiping any excess off the tube with a cotton pad or alcohol swab.) You can think "what a waste!" but think about the shelflife of mascara: you're supposed to discard it after three months. Anyway, that works pretty well, but when you eliminate the globs in the first place, then use the comb, you appear to have the most incredible lashes and they appear to be perfectly natural.

My favorite mascaras right now are Sephora brand, in burgundy; Calvin Klein, in khaki; and Bourjois Ultranatural in chatain, which is a dark warm brown. That's right, no black.

I don't like black mascara on anybody who's even remotely caucasian, it looks garish and fake. I know that most blonds wear black mascara, and that's probably the worst offense. Try the taupe, or a lash tint such as Philosophy Supernatural, which doesn't add bulk.

Those of y'all who have followed my makeup tips over the years know that natural is my goal as far as makeup is concerned. I still think it's a good goal.

Anyway, the lash steps:

  1. Apply mascara to one eye. Use your own judgment as to the amount.
  2. Use a metal comb to separate lashes before the mascara dries.
  3. Curl, if you want, but don't crunch.

You'll have lashes worth of fluttering.

04.12.2002, 2:30 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.