. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Things that make me sad, but not that kind of sad

I went to order things from Lush a few minutes ago. I hadn't for a while, because I haven't been able to take tub baths. Not that I can really take tub baths now, but I wanted some henna, and I'm almost out of a couple of favorite products. (That would be the fantastic carnation scented lotion called Potion, and the lavender/rosewater toner, which is the only toner I'll allow near my face.)

After I'd finished my shopping, I decided to look longingly at the bath bombs, because the copy people always make them sound so nice. When what to my wondering eyes should appear but the lack of my very favorite chocolate mint bath bomb. Yes, it turned the water a funny color, but it smelled so very nice and left one's skin feeling very soft.

This is so sad. I was really looking forward to the eventual day when I, sans tubes running around my body, would be able to take long hot fragrant baths again. I guess I still can, but I'll have to find another way to satisfy the need for one of those fragrances to be Belgian chocolate.

The tubes come into play next week, or so they tell me. The one in my abdomen has been there for what seems like a very long time, doing absolutely nothing. Apparently there was some mix-up with my insurance, namely that some knucklehead got the idea that I'm uninsured. Eyeroll. I'm not sure what some genius missed on the paperwork that lists all the information I have about my insurance policy, but I solved the problem with a simple phrase. "You can deal with me now, or you can deal with my lawyer tomorrow. It's your decision."

I don't like to have to pull that phrase out. I do have attorney friends who'd be willing to make a couple of phone calls for me, if needed, and in this instance I think I would have had grounds for a lawsuit.

Luckily I didn't have to wait to find out. If you can deliver such a phrase calmly and with absolute seriousness... you're generally in good shape.

It's kind of sad that you have to resort to threats, but it's equally sad that you have to deal with knuckleheads so often.

03.31.2002, 6:42 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.