. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Grown?

Not much to say today, just something to wonder.

Do you ever wonder why some people you used to know much more closely than you do now make an effort to stay in touch, and others don't. I do wonder about this.

I have one in particular, who is not a reader of this diary, and I just wonder... why? We have nothing in common except that we used to be a couple. It's not that I mind, it's just that I don't care very much. I wasn't really curious as to the doings of this person before he popped back up, and although I'll always think kindly of him, his effort to stay in touch is slightly boggling.

The other thing I wonder is why being in love makes some people so damn boring. Not everybody, mind you. I'm just amazed that couples in love don't bore each other to death. There were a couple of diarists when I first started here on Diaryland, they were roommates and they were very interesting. Then they, um, discovered each other and became the dullest people ever. He dropped off my daily reads the very minute I began to sense a crush on his part. She was slightly less forthcoming but made up for her initial reticence very quickly. Ugh.

I do not except myself from this malady. I remember remarking to a then-current paramour several years ago that he and I used to have much better conversations before he thought I was the most fascinating thing.

It's not that I'm not interesting--I mean, y'all are still reading, right? It's just that I've grown cynical about the extreme happiness of others. I'm afraid that if a friend announced that he'd met the girl of his dreams, I'd just roll my eyes and say "isn't that nice for you."

But, you know, I wouldn't really mean it. I'd really be taking bets on how long that sentiment would last.

I wouldn't be planning on throwing the gushing back in my friend's face when the inevitable happened, mind you, but... I'm so bad.

03.30.2002, 11:48 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.