. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

The Melanie/Scarlett Axis

Ellen outed herself as another person who, at one time or another, slagged through the actual novel Gone With the Wind. I read it when I was 11 or 12, and there began the great conflict of my life. I knew that one should be more like Melanie, but I've always been more like Scarlett. I mean really. I've tried and tried to be good, kind and accepting of other people's frailties, but I just can't do it most of the time.

Like Scarlett, I find a way no matter what. It's almost never the easiest way. People who know me say that I seem to seek out the most difficult possible route to get anything accomplished. That's definitely true in some cases.

The trouble is that, although it is easier to protect yourself when you are Scarlett, you don't have to protect yourself when you are Melanie.

Yeah, well. Whatever. From time to time I'm able to make things happen through sheer will, as Scarlett did. Generally I'm able to bend the rules and get away with it. The trick is knowing which rules will bend and which won't.

Now, if you've read this far, and you like Reece's Peanut Butter Cups, I urge you to go out and score some Butterfingers Creme Eggs. They're not actually filled with "creme" but with peanut butter plus little Butterfinger chunks. The chocolate is a bit soft for my taste, but I'm very critical of mass produced chocolate. The peanutbuttercrunchy filling was enough to make the questionable chocolate worthwhile. I got mine at the seven-one-one. It was the last one, so it seems like the numminess of this particular Easter treat is not a secret.

Also new on the This RAWKS list is a skin care product, Decleor's Phytopeel, an exfoliator. It's a cream, comes in a tube, looks like Noxema. You rub it in, let it dry for half a mimute and then rub it off; you have to rub a little harder than you expected. At least, I did. However, the texture of my skin after using the Phytopeel was no less than amazing.

Now, I've got several products that do the same thing, so I'm not going to buy the full size until I use one of them up, but Phytopeel takes over first place in the Finest Exfoliant I've Ever Used contest.

03.28.2002, 11:24 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.