. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

A Sickness Story

In case you noticed I was gone, I am no longer gone. Unfortunately I hadn't gone any place fun. just out to the hospital for eight days, and I didn't tell very many people. I swear, the next time I go in I am going to take a laptop and try to make people think I am still participating in real life.

I can report that the food at Inova Fairfax Hospital has gone way downhill since my first visit there. Yesterday's breakfast, my roommate and I agreed, was so bad that even taking the cover off the plate was a big mistake.

Dinner seems to be on a seven-day rotation, which I guess most people wouldn't notice because their insurance plans kick them out before a week is up. Mine doesn't; I spent the last eight days undergoing a series of tests. The results of those tests say that I will need surgery, which means they will open the incision from my second kidney transplant and fiddle around in there.

You see, the problem was that so much fluid had leaked into my abdomen and collected there that my bladder was displaced. No wonder I hurt! Currently the problem is that the solutions we tried did not stop the leaking. This, you might well imagine, is a problem. I am not all that happy about having a bag taped to my leg connected to the tube that leads into the hrinoma.

And before I cross the TMI border... it's definitely time for another pain killer. The only thing I miss about the hospital is the morphine.

03.25.2003, 10:51 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.