. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

The road is always open

Sorry. I have the hiccups. They started about an hour and a half ago, and although I thought I had cured them by eating some cookies, I find that I still have them.

I have tried drinking water while holding my nose, but that's more difficult than I remember. If I could find the right sized paper bag, I'd breathe into it. That's supposed to work, but since nobody in my house uses brown paper bags to cart lunch, I'm probably out of luck.

There are many, many home remedies for hiccups, which makes sense. Who ever heard of going to the doctor for hiccups? Actually, I used one I found on that page, and for the time being, my problem is solved. We'll just see how long it stays solved.

This might be a good time to mention that it's been several years since the last time I had hiccups.

Today was a decent day. I finally ate something around 2:00, after which I felt much better. Yesterday was a terrible day, mostly due to a problem with dialysis. The lines clotted up. Well, what I mean is that my blood clotted in the lines, which caused a problem. I am still kind of suffering from that problem even as we speak.

It really sucks to be without all your blood. I came home from dialysis yesterday, took off my shoes and fell into bed, where I stayed until 8:00. I tried to get up a couple of times, but I ended up laying back down after a few minutes because being upright made my head spin.

It was a little like being drunk, only a lot less fun on the way. I dragged myself out of bed about 9, but I could only sit. That led to teevee watching.

I went back to bed after Law and Order, which can be found on no fewer than three distinct networks. I figured I'd get up early and start accomplishing things, but no; I slept off and on until noonish, where noonish equals twenty minutes after one.

From there I went and got a sandwich, then met with this guy who wants my help with his web site. I said I'd help, beacuse I don't have anything else to do except eat and sleep.

All you folks who read this knew that already. Anyway, it was very hard for me not to edit his writing, which isn't exactly appropriate for the subject. I don't know why writers fall in love with their own words. Words are... well, not personal property. The beautiful thing about language is that anybody can use it.

However, he's doing all the content for this site. This is good, because I'll be able to say "I didn't write it" if anybody looks at the site funny.

I'm sure somebody will. I would. This is a site that would make me roll my eyes as far back as they'd go, but I'd lead the life of a spoiled housecat without something to do. This project serves as something to do.

03.21.2002, 5:24 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.