. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Mmmm. Semi permanent.

I am currently trembling with pain, which just doesn't seem right to me. It might have been resolved with a simple phone call, except that I need more evil steroids shot into my back... and nobody can find the name of the doctor who first sent me for the steroids.

How I am going to manage to live through the weekend with this pain I do not know. I can't sleep, I can't really walk, I can't sit and I can't stand without extraordinary discomfort.

I guess I had better get an extention cord for the heating pad.

In any case, to comfort myself as best I can I am going to talk about lipstick. I bought one of the Max Factor LipFinity things after seeing it win a competition on a cheesy Style Network show called "Glow." The hostess of the show knows little about makeup, and I know this for sure because her previous job was hosting on VH-1. However, sometimes Glow has decent guests.

A recent telecast did a test of long wearing products, and the Max Factor came out on top. U had a bad experience with a similar Cover Girl product, but I decided to take a $10 chance on LipFinity. I decided on Shade #160, which is called Iced. It's your basic lippy color, and yes, it stays on until you remove it. What they don't tell you is that you had better keep the top coat on hand otherwise you'll feel the color coating. The color coating has a nicer feel than the color on the Cover Girl Outlast, but overall the top coat makes the whole presentation much nicer.

The line comes in a reasonable variety of shades. I might try a few others, possibly in a dark shade.

Now, that said, you don't always want your lipstick to stay on all day, and most lipstick wearers that I know like a variety of textures. Myself, I like a nice matte sheer such as Laura Mercier's Lips line. For the look I get from that line, I will reapply as often as needed. For frosts I like Nars and Chantecaille -- the Chantecaille wears like crazy. In mattes I like Makeup Forever, and my favorite gloss of the moment is M.A.C Lipglass. None of those stay on all day.

So while I think LipFinity or some other long lasting lipstick is a good addition to any lip wardrobe, I wouldn't change over completely.

I feel a little better now. I guess.

03.12.2003, 4:12 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.