. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

We can dance if we want to, we've got all your life and mine

Six months ago today, I was in a hospital watching television--mostly CNN and ABC--through a haze of pain killers. Every so often somebody would walk in to my room. Most of them looked just as hazy as I felt.

After the anniversary, all I can think is that what happened on September 11 is no less surreal now than it was the day it happened. Time seemed to stand still for two weeks, then it started to move, slowly.

Time is still moving slowly, like a rock dragged across a desert.

I don't care for the rhetoric. One cannot fight a war "on Terror." The top three definitions of "terror" are about fear. Etimologically, the roots of the word are [Middle English terrour, from Old French terreur, from Latin terror, from terrre, to frighten].

To frighten. No army, no matter how large nor how strong, can keep fright at bay. Terror is more emotional, and the word is being misused.

I know this is just an excuse to send our military out there because it has to do something in order to justify its existance. Fine. Must the effort to occupy the U.S. Department of Defense, affectionately known as "The Pentagon" hold the attention of the whole world?

The cynical side of me--and I do have a side that's less cynical, believe it or not--says that this is all a sham to divert attention away from the catatrophe happening between the Palestinians and the Israelis. Y'all know what I think about that: just let them blow each other up, why don't we.

It is entirely possibly that the whole world ought to be rapped on the knuckles with a ruler.

And that's all I have to say on this day after the anniversary.

03.12.2002, 4:23 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.