. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Mission Accomplished.

You have no idea how relieved I am at this moment.

See, I have this domain. I've had it for a while, never done anything with it, but I keep thinking I will do something with it. In any case, I was sort of hogtied with regards to doing anything with my domain because its DNS was pointed at a server that no longer provides DNS; and its adminstrative contact went to an address that no longer exists.

So today I got a mailer from register.com, asking if I wanted to renew through them. I thought maybe my trouble was over, that I could just make this somebody else's problem. Sadly, this was not the case, but I called VeriSign--formerly Network Solutions--and determined what I needed to do in order to fix things up before the registration runs out and I'm totally screwed.

It turns out that it's as simple as finding a piece of paper in my house.

I'll wait until you finish cackling.

As luck had it, this was a piece of mail I'd actually opened. And--will wonders never cease?--I thought I knew roughly what pile of papers contained the piece of paper with the information I needed. I was wrong, of course, but I was right about the class of places the piece of paper could be. I located it near the middle of Place Number Four, a cardboard box.

So now the administrative contact points to my current mailbox. Hooray.

I'm going to renew with register.com and maybe even set up a web site. Isn't that cool? Well, maybe it's not 2002 cool, but it's at least 1997 cool, and that's all right by me.

02.27.2002, 9:23 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.