. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Stream of what's going on

Happy birthday, little brother. (He doesn't read this, so I don't know why I bother wishing him many happy returns, but I do.)

I think I've also recently missed Ian's birthday, and he does read this; Paul's is next month, but I'll miss is, too. I'm like that. So, um, if you have a birthday, and I knew what it was at one point, please be assured that although I've forgotten your birthday, I probably wish you had a happy one.

Despite my lack of recent input here, life just keeps on happening. I'm having another one of those phases where I don't want to eat anything. This time the cause is virtually all food having bad mouthfeel. I had some tomato soup for lunch, and that was OK, but the grilled cheese sandwich I had to go with was grim. It's too bad; I used the nice cheese.

So right now I'm online waiting out an ebay auction for a really cool old charm bracelet. The price has doubled since I started bidding on it, but I finally hit the reserve a couple of minutes ago. Yay me. The auction has half an hour remaining, and I have to decide whether I will go any higher if I am outbid. There are hotel charms on the bracelet... I really, really want it.

Well, OK, I went up $20 on my maximum. I'm not entirely sure I want it more than that. I used to have an extensive colllection of vintage silver charm bracelets, but most of it was stolen a few years ago.

I just don't think I'm going as high as the person I'm competing with has gone, so I'm going to switch to bidding on another bracelet.

Have I mentioned that I hate reserve auction? It makes more sense to me to put the minimum price at which you'd sell the item as your opening bid.

Ebay is kind of a scam, anyway. I found a nifty bracelet last night, with transportation charms, and won the auction for less than I would have paid for the piece at a flea market. That one was merely funky, but the really good bracelets, such as the two I'm working for the next 20 minutes, both reserve auctions. I find those deceptive, in a way. The last reserve I tried to work was an antique opal ring... truly beautiful. Nobody won the auction, and I tried to contact the seller to find out what he wanted for the ring, but he never wrote back.

My advice to all of you is Never Collect Anything. The junk starts to mean way too much to you.

Anyway, I'm tired of waiting, so I give up on the bracelets. I'm sure it's my loss, but maybe if I went to get some Brown Cow yogurt I could eat that.

The one thing I know for sure is that I can't lose any more weight.

02.27.2002, 1:56 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.