. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Scary things

Today is full of transplant stuff. (Does "stuff" in concert with "transplant" sound as wrong as I think it does?) Of course, I am referring to the girl who lays near death at Duke University Hospital, in Raleigh, NC, after she received a heart and lung transplant with organs of the wrong blood type.

At a time like this, is is a little strange to be one of a limited number of people in the world to be a double organ transplant recipient. If her kidneys had failed, she might actually have some chance. She could go back on dialysis, but you just can't make it without a heart and lungs.

The Associated Press quotes a hospital spokesman as acknowledging the hospital's culpability, but I want to know how something so stupid happened. The incident will probably cost a teenager her life, and I'm sure there's somebody with type A blood waiting for a heart-lung transplant.

And in the mean time, it looks like I've lost my private health coverage, which frghtens me more than I like. I worry that I'm going to get really sick again, and that the cost of my meds will break me. That's an unrealistic worry for the most part, because I have a lot of the spendy meds on hand, and there's always the possibility that I will be able to return to work (and find a job) sooner rather than later.

I don't want to be in the position of taking a job because of the benefits, but I've done it before. Still, I am unused to feeling any kind of fear. This unfamiliar sensation of not knowing exactly what happens next flat out doesn't feel good.

In any case, right this minute I'm going downstairs to start taking down the Christmas tree.

That's right. That's what happens when you're a sick person with a fake tree. However, it's time the thing came down.

High time.

02.19.2003, 6:47 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.