. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Hey, is that reality I see over there?

Things happen quickly if you ask them to. Yesterday I decided I was tired of waiting, tired of doctors telling me what to do. It's not that I don't appreciate their expertise. Honestly, I do. If I hadn't listened to them in the beginning I'd be dead by now.

On the other hand, if you don't listen to your inner voice telling you that something's wrong... well, that's also bad. So I spent yesterday on the phone. I told Dr. Yoho that I wouldn't be going on the IV antibiotic, because the blood cultures came back with no growth, which is what we wanted to see. Then I called Dr. Alijani's office and tried to schedule an appointment to have the catheter for peritoneal dialysis put in.

Leah, his secretary, called back this morning asking whether I'm available Thursday morning. Well, I'm supposed to have a session with my trainer, but I can cancel that. No problem.

The irony of all this is that I may get a call tomorrow saying that the transplant with a living donor has been green-lighted and that we have only to wait for an OR date. That would be a very happy irony. (The transplant nephrologist is looking at Carolyn's results today, and he's the one who can say yes or no to her as a donor.)

Going back on PD will be better than being on hemodialysis, though it comes with its own set of complexities. For one, there's the protein consumption. I guess I should make room in the freeze for more fish. Right, and I can learn to like tempeh again.

With any luck it won't be long. I'm not going to plan on going back to work immediately, but I can start thinking about it.

That's good.

02.19.2002, 10:03 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.