. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Secret Weather Geek

Well, it's snowing here. I mean really snowing. Apparently the liars were serious when they said two feet of snow by the time it ended. However, I heard a woman from VDOT talking on the news about how the road crews were handling everything (in response to a stupid question from the talking head in the studio)and there was still a bit of awe in her tone when she mentioned the Blizzard of 96. It seems to me like that particular storm, or series of storms, lasted for weeks.

Maybe only in the focus of memory, though. I know that on the first day of the blizzard more than a foot of snow fell in the city. I know that I moved my car in back of the house... possibly should have done that this time, but it's parked out on one of the side streets, out of the way of the snow plows.

Anyway, if you like, take a look at the National Weather Service web site for your area (by clicking the handy map near your city) and then click on the forecast discussion link. It's pretty cool. Rather than being a forum about the weather, it seems to be government meteorologists notes on the forecast. It is entirely possible that the discussion is interesting only when there's Weather, though. Don't say I didn't warn you.

That's NOAA of course. Same people who bring you the Weather Radio.

Can you still pick up those things at Radio Shack? We had one when I was a kid, you used to punch a button and there you'd have the weather forecast for your listening pleasure, whenever you wanted it.

I suppose I find it comforting that the US government still takes care of things like weather forecasting. I don't find comfort in much else about the gubmint these days.

Besides, I am a secret weather geek. It's the one thing we can't control, and you have to like that.

02.16.2003, 3:10 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.