. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

What is your damage, Heather?

Apropos of nothing...

Happy National Pancake Day, everybody! In honor of the occasion, I bought some spendy maple syrup at Trader Joe's. I like this stuff because it comes in a glass bottle. I'm sure there must be a reason for the traditional plastic jug, but I've never known what it could be. I'll keep the bottle in the fridge. It's dark in the fridge, so I don't think light sensitivity will be an issue.

Today is also Abe Lincoln's birthday. Remember the days before President's Day was a federal holiday, when one used to see calendars with both Lincoln and Washington's dates of birth marked? I always wondered why nobody made a calendar with Millard Fillmore or Rutherford B. Hayes birthdays.

I've been watching the Olympics on teevee and I've come to the following conclusions:

  1. Snowboarding is way cool.

  2. Figure skating involves way too much handwringing.

  3. I'd like to try the luge, but probably not skeleton.

  4. Downhill skiers must be insane, but in a good way.

  5. Teevee hosts should talk less. Somebody I know wanted the Olympics as seen on CSPAN, and I think that might be a good idea.

  6. Target, Monster and EDS still have decent ad agencies. I should look up and see who has those accounts... maybe it's the same agency.

  7. Isn't that enough?

    Honestly I don't know very much. My plan for tonight is to bake a pound cake. I saw the recipe in Cooks Illustrated and it sounds like I could manage it, even though I have to make a special trip out to get cake flour. By the way, CI is the very best magazine. If you like to cook, you should subscribe.

    See, not very exciting. I'm thinking one lemon and one chocolate, and a cup of coffee in the morning will set me right up.

    02.12.2002, 5:29 p.m. comments (0)

    before - after

.
. .
.