. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

What are the odds?

I had two accidental things happen to me within about 12 hours of each other: one involved a jelly doughnut and the other involved an angry cat. Of course, both happenings were entirely my fault. I can't even blame the pain killers because I hadn't taken any.

The doughnut thing happened in the morning. I had purchased a small cache of Krispy Kreme filled doughnuts on the weekend's trip to Harris Teeter. I wanted one for breakfast so I took it out of the fridge and placed it in the microwave, whereupon I proceeded to warm the thing to what I thought was eating temperature. That's what the outside felt like, anyway.

Did I mention the filling? I took a bite and boiling jelly dribbled down my face. I screamed and managed to get the offending stuff off after a few seconds, but I do have a lovely oval shaped blister on my chin as a reminder that if you decide to heat a jelly doughnut in the nukerowave you should switch the power to defrost.

That evening, I was walking down the hall upstairs when I came upon two of my cats hissing at each other. That would be old, cranky Hecate and Miss Marilyn Maineroe, who outweighs Hecate by at least five pounds. Hecate was closer to me, and my thought was to move her away from Marilyn. So I picked Hecate up... and she bit me hard enough to break the skin and draw blood.

I just can't imagine how I took leave of my senses to such an extent that I picked up an angry cat with my bare hands. That's pretty high up on the list of things you never want to do, ever.

So if you have to pick up an angry cat, at least throw a towel over the cat first. I can't imagine anything but that the towel would merely increase the anger, but it would allow you to move the cat if you had to.

01.30.2003, 7:07 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.