. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

The state of the onion

I was watching the State of the Union address, sort of. To tell the truth I'm recording it on TiVo. I was actually watching tonight's American Idol, but when that was over I punched the Watch Live Teevee button and Shrub was talking about fighting AIDS in Africa.

Now, don't get me wrong; I think fighting AIDS in Africa should be a priority for this country I live in, the one that produces so many of the new drugs, but I don't want the issue used as lip service to make a warmonger look less... like he is. Maybe I've lived here too long, but I can just imagine the speechwriters and other handlers looking for something non-committal to make the president look better to average Americans, the ones who really don't want a war.

Honest, I'll watch the whole speech later when I can FF through the applause. Right now my neighborhood is being buzzed by police helicopters just in case there are potential terrorists lurking in Capitol Hill's alleys. I'm sure that's an effective use of those helicopers.

So I was thinking about life as a sick person. Apparently I come off all brave and capable. So many people I know say they would not do as well as they seem to think I have with all my medical issues. See, I don't think I am doing particularly well.

Mom says that if she were in my position she'd be in bed eating bonbons, which I guess would be fine, but there's not that much to do in bed. I'd like to point out that most of the people who say I'm doing better than they assume they would are fairly healthy.

Point is that you do what you have to in order to get by. I don't traipse up and down two long flights of stairs to get my laundry done, but I do put the laundry in bags, carry them to the car and have them dropped at the fluff and fold, where somebody else does the wash, dry and fold part. I manage to keep the dishes washed and put away with the help of a machine, and I sweep as needed. I try to walk every day, but it has been really cold, so I just stretch a little.

I probably sound more active than I really am. I do get tired, and when I get tired I stop.

Like now.

01.28.2003, 9:35 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.