. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

They've got it all at the mall

So, after a terrible afternoon at Tyson's Corner Center, I came here to write about makeup. I miss writing about makeup.

Tyson's was terrible because of my low blood pressure, not because there is any inherent horror in the mall itself. (Well, there is, but that's a whole 'nother rant.) At some point, perhaps half the distance between Bloomingdale's and Restoration Hardware, I just about lost consciousness. I'm serious. I couldn't see and I got very cold. I kept on walking by putting one foot in front of the other and saying "don't faint, don't faint, don't faint" until I got to a bench. What else was I going to do? I felt better after I sat down for a while, then after I stood up I felt worse.

I finally made it to Auntie Anne's for a salty pretzel and a soda, which helped elevate my blood pressure enough so I could buy drawer pulls at Restoration Hardware, get out of the mall and drive home safely. On the way out of the mall, I stopped at the Prescriptives counter and sampled a new foundation called Traceless. It's very nice. The counter woman, who looked a lot like a drag queen with her big hair and her serious eyeliner, told me to put the stuff on half my face and wait two minutes so the product could "read" my skin.

So when I got it home, I did just that, and I was impressed. It looks like regular skin, only better, and I think it wears better than the stick foundation I've been using. (I still love that one, though; it's Too Faced Blender... best stick foundation ever.) Honest, it doesn't feel like makeup. I put it on over moisturizer and my face doesn't feel put-upon.

I do not need a foundation. Repeat: I do not need a foundation. However, I'll probably end up buying this one, because it's nice.

My goal for the year is to use up at least one lip gloss. The likely candidates are Bliss Nudge, which is a deep red; Too Faced First Kiss, a shimmery pale pink in a tube with a brush; and Urban Decay YDK Lip Gunk, a taupe shimmer that I like so much I have two tubes. Each of these has a significant amount gone already, but I have so many lip glosses. I am making a special effort to wear these often.

Now my foot is falling asleep which means I've been sitting too long. That's my cue to go.

01.24.2002, 9:30 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.