. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Frailty, thy name is Verizon

So, I know I reported on installing my new DSL service. Now I can report that it sucks.

And when I says "sucks" I mean suck-diddly-ucks. Apparently Verizon doesn't really provide 24-7 always on internet access. Either the OS (Windows XP on the notebook) or the provider is logging me off after a period of inactivity.

That is definitely not what I'm paying for, particularly when I try to log back on and can't reach the authentication server. I knew that Verizon sucked. I knew it, and I went with them anyway because it seemed like the path of least resistance.

Verizon also does not provide backup via dialup, although apparently one needs backup is one expects to have continuous service with Verizon. I'm not exactly sure what they do provide. I think their network is put together with paper clips and old gum. (Yes, that would be less reliable than duct tape, IMO.)

Health update: had labs done this morning, but no report on the results, so I guess nothing was out of the ordinary. If anything were amiss, I would have got a call before now telling me to change the dosage on one med or another. Or to come on out to the hospital for observation. But none of that happened, so I assume I'm all right. People tell me I look good, and I try to counter by telling them that it's makeup, which is kind of but not entirely true.

And in other news, I am now officially on the gubmint dole: I received my first Social Security disability check in yesterday's mail. I think I have to turn it immediately over to my disability insurance company, but I'm not sure. If for some reason I get to keep it, I am going to buy the Whirlpool Duet washer and dryer I've been lusting after.

So all you Americans with Jobs can read about my health and recovery with renewed interest: you're paying for it!

Finally, it is damned cold here. One of tonight's tasks is to locate all possible liners to my various coats and snap them in. Brrrrrrrr.

01.23.2003, 5:26 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.