. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Just another part of a balanced breakfast

I am part of a forum that talks about cats. It's a good group of people, and there are enough of us looking out for new people who come in and need real information that we can sometimes go off topic. We talk about food a lot, because who doesn't like food? If somebody is having a problem or an issue that doesn't involve a pet, sometimes they bring it up.

Extra tolerant people, I tell you.

So I'm not sure how this thread got started, but it concerns ugly glasses. This is a bit of conversation that happened in my part of the thread. The part that isn't me writing has been italicized for your convenience.

*****

In the eighth grade, I had a really terrible pair of oversized squarish frames in a clear purple. The tint on them was sort of apricot faded down to lavender. My initials were on them.

I had those glasses. I really did. My initials were in the corner by some sort of decal.

Yes, the decals on mine were shiny letters in sort of a rounded font. I guess other people were doing that at the time, too, and that it was some genius marketroid's idea to sell sticky letters for girls' glasses in the 80s. A couple of years ago when famous teenaged people started wearing those carved looking colored glasses with words engraved in them... I just wanted to hork up a hairball. They looked SO BAD. This was a serious case of the Emperor's New Glasses. I know that Jennifer Lopez has her rear end insured by Lloyd's, or something (insured against what? I have always wondered about that) but she still looked foolish in the floppy straw hat and those awful glasses. So did all the others.

Oh, and while we're on the subject, I'd like to thank AOL-Time Warner and its handy AIM welcome screen for assuring that I meet my RDA for celebrity pictures each and every day.

Eyeroll.

01.18.2003, 11:15 p.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.