. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

We have the technology. We can rebuild him.

Here's something I wonder. I have been considering purchasing a new PDA, which stands for Personal Digital Assistant, for those of you who don't speak Acronym as a Second Language. (We have to here in Washington; it's kind of like having a cell phone, you just can't communicate without acronyms.)

So, I looked around and I find that I can get virtually the same thing I had, except they're shiny now, for a lower price. That's fine, but I don't necessarily mind matching the amount I spent before, so I looked at the more advanced models. It doesn't matter who makes them, they've all got more memory now, but I was fine with the amount of memory I had, and nobody has made the advance that I'm looking for. You see, PDAs generally are packaged with a cradle. This looks a lot like the desktop charger for a cellular phone. One of the most annoying things about the PDA is its battery life. If you use the backlight at all, you run through batteries like crazy and sometimes you find yourself with no power and no batteries in a bad place, like on a train where there's no place to restock.

What I want is a PDA with a battery like a cell phone, where the cradle also serves as a charger. Doesn't that make six hundred different kinds of sense to you? I'd be willing to move my price point up considerably in order to get this feature. I don't necessarily want a combination phone/PDA, because I don't want a phone that large or a PDA that small. Just give me a rechargable PDA already.

Manufacturers, I hope you're listening.

01.05.2002, 10:02 a.m. comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.