. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

What do you know?

Scattershooting while wondering how long forever might be...

Well, I made a decision today. Rather than put myself through hell to stay on hemodialysis--the kind I go to the center for three times a week--I'm opting for the other kind. It's called peritoneal dialysis, and you do it at home, more or less on your own. The surgeon who will put a catheter in my abdomen, somewhere in the neighborhood of my navel, will call me tomorrow and I will schedule The Procedure. I hate that surgery is a regular part of my life lately.

The advantages are pretty simple: diet and fluid control are both easier because you do it every day, plus I have an actual chance at keeping my blood sugars regulated. I keep telling myself that this won't be forever, though. If something happened and I weren't able to do the transplant, that would be quite a blow.

~~~~~

It's almost 10:00 and Nick has friends downstairs. They are listening to the CD of the band of one of the friends, which sucks. It's giving me a headache. I hate to seem like an uptight white woman, but that's what I feel like right now.

Dear Nick and "Friends,"
Please pipe down at once, you're on my absolute last nerve thanks to the 15-day cycle my reproductive system seems to have settled on. Have you ever had a 15-day cycle? I didn't think so.
*heart*
Koog.

~~~~~

What do you know? It's stopped. I think telepathy works, after all.

2000-06-20, 22:42:28 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.