. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

"Can you take me higher?" Um, no actually I can't.

I have a question for you: Is there any band that sucks as much as Creed? Has there ever been any band that sucks so hard? I mean, really. Creed sucks so hard it leaves an ugly purple bruise, and that's all I have to say about it.

OK, so it's not. Why do people like Creed? Do any of you like Creed? If so, please leave now and never come back. I thought Matchbox 20 sucked, but Rob Thomas looks like a genius compared to that... whatever his name is from Creed. (OK, I know the name of the guy from Matchbox 20, but only because of the Santana song and all the Grammies.)

You may ask yourself why I'm so bent out of shape about a lame-ass band that I couldn't pick out of a police lineup. It's not that hard to avoid lame-assedness, you say. But when you watch VH-1 in the middle of the night, lame-ass bands whose singer looks like Magic Earring Ken with a Prince Valiant 'do... take my word for it, they're everywhere.

Creed scares me more than George W. Bush, and that's saying quite a bit. Both are all bad style and no substance--and yet, there are people who like them. For whatever reason, despite the fact that I do live in the real world and acknowledge that not everybody has the same standards I have, I can't accept this as being rational behavior.

I have to think that people who like Creed are deranged in some way. Either that or they're 14 years old, which is a valid excuse in my opinion. I'm sure that when I was 14 I liked some bands that really sucked, but I've conveniently forgotten their names and all their songs.

I guess my main point is that I'm just too damned old to know that Creed exists, but the youth movement in America--you know, the one that forbids growing up--means that I can't escape otherwise hateful bands.

On the other hand, if my main complaint in life is that I'm continually exposed to a band that sucks... I should shut up and go get into some serious trouble.

2000-11-26, morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.